Lead Performer: Diane Schuur; Producer (group): Concord Jazz

These 13 tracks, composed by Barry Manilow and Eddie Arkin, play like musical theater – with vocalist Diane Schuur in the spotlight throughout. All-star rhythm and horn sections and some orchestral accompaniment create film-noir jazz and light bossa nova moods and coax more restraint than usual from Schuur. A duet with Karrin Allyson on the bluesy ”Stay Away From Bill” flows naturally, but pairings with Brian McKnight (”I’ll Be There”) and Manilow (”Anytime”) sound forced.

Originally posted August 15 2003 — 12:00 AM EDT

More from Our Partners