The Art of Racing in the Rain | EW.com

Books

The Art of Racing in the Rain Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice: Here's a schmaltz-soaked novel told from the point of view of a large, lovable mutt named Enzo. From his ...The Art of Racing in the RainFiction Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice: Here's a schmaltz-soaked novel told from the point of view of a large, lovable mutt named Enzo. From his ...2008-05-09HarperCollins
B-

The Art of Racing in the Rain

Genre: Fiction; Author: Garth Stein; Publisher: HarperCollins

Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice: Here’s a schmaltz-soaked novel told from the point of view of a large, lovable mutt named Enzo. From his deathbed, the pooch recalls his beloved Denny, a struggling race-car driver; Denny’s wife, Eve, who succumbs to brain cancer; and their daughter, Zoë. (Enzo smelled the cancer — ”like rotting wood, mushrooms, decay” — long before doctors detected it.) Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain is sweet but predictable, from Denny’s custody battle with Zoë’s grandparents to the heart-tugging end. Yet to my surprise, I teared up when Enzo went to the Endless Field in the Sky. B-