The Last Song | EW.com

Books

The Last Song Nicholas Sparks' blockbuster novels are like hot buttered Orville Redenbacher for the soul: highly consumable, comforting, and by definition,...The Last SongFiction Nicholas Sparks' blockbuster novels are like hot buttered Orville Redenbacher for the soul: highly consumable, comforting, and by definition,...2009-09-04Grand Central Publishing
The Last Song
B

The Last Song

Genre: Fiction; Author: Nicholas Sparks (Author); Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Nicholas Sparks’ blockbuster novels are like hot buttered Orville Redenbacher for the soul: highly consumable, comforting, and by definition, pretty corny. In The Last Song — already in production as a Miley Cyrus film — 17-year-old Ronnie is forced to abandon her club-hopping Manhattan ways for a summer with her estranged father in a North Carolina beach town. The story that follows is typically Sparksian, an engaging if heavily telegraphed stew of romance, betrayal, and youthful discovery, garnished with a healthy dollop of Christianity. Fans of The Notebook, Message in a Bottle, etc., will gobble it up with glee, right through the tear-duct-milking finale. More literary types will run screaming for the exits long before. B

See all of this week?s reviews