Dave Karger
October 07, 2009 AT 08:39 PM EDT

I just read on two of my go-to Oscar blogs (Sasha Stone’s Awards Daily and Kris Tapley’s InContention) that the London Film Festival, which begins next week, has announced which nine films will compete for its Best Film prize. It’s a great list: Balibo (an Australian drama starring Anthony LaPaglia), Bright Star, Fantastic Mr. Fox, Micmacs (the latest from Amélie director Jean-Pierre Jeunet), Nowhere Boy (the directorial debut of artist Sam Taylor-Wood, about John Lennon’s childhood), Cannes standout A Prophet, The Road, A Serious Man, and Michael Haneke’s The White Ribbon. I must say, however, that I find it, well, interesting that one member of the six-person jury (headed by Anjelica Huston) awarding the prize is singer Jarvis Cocker, who wrote and performs a song in Fantastic Mr. Fox. Let’s hope he can be impartial.

You May Like