Tara Fowler
September 25, 2012 AT 02:00 PM EDT

Rachel Cohn, co-author of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, has a new book coming out — and we’ve got an exclusive peek at it!

Beta tells the story of Elysia — a teenage clone created to serve the inhabitants of an island paradise known as Demesne. Born without a soul and engineered to perfection, Elysia is the dream servant. And yet, as time wears on, Elysia finds herself acting disturbingly human. She shouldn’t be able to taste or feel or love, but she does — and she wants more. Check out the trailer for Beta, out Oct. 16, and when you’re done with that, you can read the first chapter of the book below.



Come back next month for our Q&A with Cohn about the book!

Read more:

See the trailer for Kat Zhang’s ‘What’s Left of Me’ — EXCLUSIVE VIDEO

See the trailer for Ellen Hopkins’ teen novel, ‘Tilt’ — EXCLUSIVE VIDEO

Watch the trailer for Michelle Gagnon’s YA debut — EXCLUSIVE

You May Like