'Silver Linings Playbook' wins big at Independent Spirit Awards | EW.com

Movies | Inside Movies

'Silver Linings Playbook' wins big at Independent Spirit Awards

Spirit Awards Jennifer Lawrence

(Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images)

The weekend’s other big movie awards ceremony—the Independent Spirit Awards—was held this afternoon in Santa Monica, Calif., with Andy Samberg on board as host. The big winner was David O. Russell’s romantic dramedy Silver Linings Playbook, which took home four prizes: best feature, best director, best actress, and best screenplay. But there was plenty of love spread around the year’s top indies. Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Feature
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Keep the Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook – WINNER

Best Director
Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet
Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook – WINNER

Best Actor
Jack Black, Bernie
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes, The Sessions – WINNER
Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On
Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce, Four

Best Actress
Linda Cardellini, Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook – WINNER
Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed

Best Supporting Actor
Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike – WINNER
David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere
Michael Peña, End of Watch
Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom

Best Supporting Actress
Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister
Ann Dowd, Compliance
Helen Hunt, The Sessions – WINNER
Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere

Best Screenplay
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook – WINNER

Best First Feature
Fill the Void
Gimme the Loot
The Perks of Being a Wallflower – WINNER
Safety Not Guaranteed
Sound of My Voice

Best First Screenplay
Rashida Jones and Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever
Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void
Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby
Christopher Ford, Robot and Frank
Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed – WINNER

Best Documentary
The Central Park Five
How to Survive a Plague
The Invisible War – WINNER
Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present
The Waiting Room

Best Cinematography
Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild – WINNER
Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch
Lol Crawley, Here
Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom
Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints

Best International Film
Amour – WINNER
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia
Rust and Bone
War Witch

John Cassavetes Award
Breakfast With Curtis
The Color Wheel
Middle of Nowhere – WINNER
Mosquita y Mari

Robert Altman Award

Truer Than Fiction Award
Only the Young
The Waiting Room

Someone to Watch Award
Rebecca Thomas, Electrick Children
Adam Leon, Gimme the Loot
David Finker, Pincus

Producers’ Award
Nobody Walks
Prince Avalanche
Stones in the Sun – WINNER

Read more:
Andy Samberg on hosting the Spirit Awards and what’s up his (ripped-off) sleeve
Andy Samberg grins and ‘bears’ it for Independent Spirit Awards – VIDEO
Special coverage: Oscars 2013