Student Academy Awards winners for 2013 |

Movies | Inside Movies

Student Academy Awards winners for 2013


Film students from the States and abroad have been selected as winners in the annual student competition sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The winning films were entered into regional competitions, then voted on by the Student Academy Awards Executive Committee to reach the final stage. The filmmakers behind the winning movies will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry-related activities before the awards ceremony.

Bob Saget, himself a Student Academy Award winner, will host the ceremony on June 8 in Beverly Hills. Films are given medals - gold, silver and bronze - at the awards. Since 1972, the Awards have been supporting college filmmakers - including past winners John Lasseter, Robert Zemeckis and Spike Lee.

This year’s winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):

Bottled Up Rafael Cortina, Occidental College
The Compositor John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts
Zug Perry Janes, University of Michigan

Dia de los Muertos Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of Art and Design
Peck Pocketed Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design
Will Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts

Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts
A Second Chance David Aristizabal, University of Southern California
Win or Lose Daniel Koehler, Elon University

Josephine and the Roach Jonathan Langager, University of Southern California
Ol’ Daddy Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin
Un Mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl) Mauro Mueller, Columbia University

Foreign Film
Miss Todd Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom
Parvaneh Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland
Tweesprong (Crossroads) Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of Arts, Erasmus College Brussels, Belgium

Read more:
Moviemakers of tomorrow: Check out the winners of the Student Academy Awards 2012
Oscars 2013