Los Angeles Film Critics Awards: 'Gravity' ties with 'Her' for Best Picture, James Franco ties with Jared Leto | EW.com

Movies | Inside Movies

Los Angeles Film Critics Awards: 'Gravity' ties with 'Her' for Best Picture, James Franco ties with Jared Leto


Image Credit: Film Images

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association named ties in three major categories Sunday. Gravity tied with Her for Best Picture, James Franco and Jared Leto tied for Best Supporting Actor for their performances in Spring Breakers and Dallas Buyers Club, and Cate Blanchett and Adèle Exarchopoulos tied for Best Actress for their work in Blue Jasmine and Blue is the Warmest Color.

The LAFCA did choose distinct winners in the other major acting categories. Bruce Dern was named Best Actor for his portrayal of Woody Grant in Nebraska, and Lupita Nyong’o picked up a supporting actress win for playing the tragic Patsey in 12 Years a Slave.

Gravity was the big winner beyond its Best Picture tie with Spike Jonze’s Her, walking away with nods for Best Director, Best Editing, and Best Cinematography. Also of note, Sarah Polley’s Stories We Tellrecently selected as one of the 15 docs on the Academy’s shortlist – won Best Documentary.

Noticeably absent from any recognition was David O. Russell’s American Hustle, which the New York Film Critics Circle named Best Picture; Sundance favorite and recent Gotham Awards-winner Fruitvale Station; and the Robert Redford survival pic All Is Lost.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Picture (TIE)
Gravity and Her

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
Runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her

Best Actor
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Runner-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress (TIE)
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine and Adèle Exarchopoulos, Blue Is the Warmest Color

Best Supporting Actor (TIE)
James Franco, Spring Breakers and Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Screenplay
Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight
Runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her

Best Documentary/Nonfiction Film
Stories We Tell
Runner-up: The Act of Killing

Best Foreign Language Film
Blue Is the Warmest Color
Runner-up: The Great Beauty

Best Music/Score
T Bone Burnett, Inside Llewyn Davis
Runner-up: Arcade Fire and Owen Pallett, Her

Best Animation
Ernest & Célestine
Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Editing
Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger, Gravity
Runner-up: Shane Carruth and David Lowery, Upstream Color

Best Production Design
K.K. Barrett, Her
Runner-up: Jess Gonchor, Inside Llewyn Davis

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award
Cabinets Of WonderFilms and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce

New Generation Prize
Megan Ellison

Legacy of Cinema
Criterion Collection

A Special Citation
The creative team behind 12 Years a Slave