Heidi Gutman/ABC
Amber Ray
April 16, 2014 AT 03:28 PM EDT

For the first time ever, all 11 co-hosts of The View will appear on the talk show together — live, on May 15 — to honor the woman who brought them to the daytime panel: Barbara Walters.

Walters — who created The View and is the only remaining host from the talker’s original lineup — will appear on her final broadcast the following day. Former hosts Debbie Matenopoulos (1997-1998), Meredith Vieira (1997-2006), Star Jones (1997-2006), Joy Behar (1997-2013), Lisa Ling (1999-2002), Elisabeth Hasselbeck (2003-2013), and Rosie O’Donnell (2006-2007) will join current stars Whoopi Goldberg, Sherri Shepherd, and Jenny McCarthy to bid farewell to the show’s matriarch.

After more than five decades in television, Walters announced her retirement last May. She will continue to serve as executive producer on the show.

Since then, The View has been honoring Walters with “The Year of Barbara,” a segment looking back at her most memorable interviews. In the ongoing celebration of Walters’ contributions to television, the primetime special ABC: A Barbara Celebration will also air on May 16 (9 p.m. ET).

The View airs weekdays at 11 a.m. ET on ABC.

You May Like