Joshua Rivera
December 03, 2014 AT 07:36 PM EST

DJ Earworm’s annual United States of Pop mega-mashup has been around for eight years, and normally, it’s an unabashedly upbeat affair: The existing editions are generally hyper-danceable, sugary confections that manage to both be a celebration of chart toppers and a reminder of how homogenous our most popular songs can be.

But this year’s mix—subtitled “Do What You Wanna Do”—is really mellow. Like, really mellow. There’s lots of ballad-heavy crooning from the likes of Sam Smith and John Legend, which leads to even the craziest bangers, like “Turn Down for What,”  coming across as melancholic.

Here’s the full list of songs sampled, according to the Youtube video notes:

A Great Big World feat. Christina Aguilera – “Say Something”

Ariana Grande feat. Iggy Azalea – “Problem”

Bastille – “Pompeii”

Dj Snake & Lil Jon – “Turn Down For What”

Hozier – “Take Me to Church”

Idina Menzel – “Let It Go”

Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX – “Fancy”

Iggy Azalea feat. Rita Ora – “Black Widow”

Jason Derulo feat. 2 Chainz – “Talk Dirty”

Jeremih feat. YG – “Don’t Tell ‘Em”

Jessie J feat. Ariana Grande & Nicki Minaj – “Bang Bang”

John Legend – “All Of Me”

Katy Perry feat. Juicy J – “Dark Horse”

Lorde – “Team”

Magic! – “Rude”

Maroon 5 – “Animals”

Meghan Trainor – “All About That Bass”

Nico & Vinz – “Am I Wrong”

One Direction – “Story of My Life”

Passenger – “Let Her Go”

Pharrell Williams – “Happy”

Pitbull feat. Ke$ha – “Timber”

Sam Smith – “Stay With Me”

Taylor Swift – “Shake It Off”

Tove Lo – “Habits”

You May Like