Miles Raymer
December 14, 2014 AT 12:00 PM EST

Tonight at NYC’s Dream Hotel, media and industry types were played a new D’Angelo album, Black Messiah, that until a teaser trailer appeared on YouTube last Thursday had been kept a total secret. Considering that his last album, Voodoo, came out 14 years ago, the news of this impending release was a big surprise, to say the least.

Same with the announcement that it would be available on iTunes at midnight, which came after longtime D’Angelo friend and collaborator ?uestlove had finished playing the album track by track.

Hit the jump to stream Black Messiah‘s lead single, “Sugah Daddy,” and to check out the album’s track listing.

Black Messiah:

01 Ain’t That Easy

02 1000 Deaths

03 The Charade

04 Sugah Daddy

05 Really Love

06 Back in the Future (Part I)

07 Till It’s Done (Tutu)

08 Prayer

09 Betray My Heart

10 The Door

11 Back in the Future (Part II)

12 Another Life

You May Like