Michele K. Short/HBO
Samantha Highfill
January 14, 2015 AT 06:41 PM EST

The Directors Guild of America has announced this year’s nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Television, Commercials and Documentary for 2014. The nominees include Game of Thrones and The Normal Heart, along with both a dramatic and a comedic nod for Jodie Foster.

See the full list of nominees below.

Dramatic Series

Dan Attias, Homeland, “13 Hours in Islamabad”

Jodie Foster, House of Cards, “Chapter 22”

Cary Joji Fukunaga, True Detective, “Who Goes There”

Lesli Linka Glatter, Homeland, “From A to B and Back Again”

Alex Graves, Game of Thrones, “The Children”

Comedy Series

Louis C.K., Louie, “Elevator: Part 6”

Jodie Foster, Orange is the New Black, “Thirsty Bird”

Mike Judge, Silicon Valley, “Minimum Viable Product”

Gail Mancuso, Modern Family, “Vegas”

Jill Soloway, Transparent, “Best New Girl”

Movies for Television and Mini-Series

Rob Ashford and Glenn Weiss, Peter Pan Live!

Lisa Cholodenko, Olive Kitteridge

Uli Edel, Houdini

Ryan Murphy, The Normal Heart

Michael Wilson, The Trip to Bountiful

Variety/Talk/News/Sports—Regularly Scheduled Programming

Paul G. Casey, Real Time With Bill Maher, “#1226”

DAve Diomedi, The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, “Episode 1”

Jim Hoskinson, The Colbert Report, “#11040”

Don Roy King, Saturday Night Live, “Host Jim Carrey/Musical Guest Iggy Azalea”

Chuck O’Neil, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, “Open-Carrying to the Midterms”


Hamish Hamilton, The 86th Annual Academy Awards

Louis J. Horvitz, The 37th Annual Kennedy Center Honors

Des McAnuff, Billy Crystal: 700 Sundays

Rich Russo, Super Bowl XLVIII

Glenn Weiss, The 68th Annual Tony Awards

Reality Programs

Bertram van Munster, Jack Cannon, Elise Doganieri, The Quest, “One True Hero”

Neil DeGroot, The Biggest Loser, “Episode 1613”

Steve Hryniewicz, Top Chef, “The First Thanksgiving”

Anthony B. Sacco, The Chair, “The Test”

Adam Vetri, Steve Austin’s Broken Skull Challenge, “Welcome to the Gun Show”

Children’s Programs

Paul Hoen, How to Build A Better Boy

Jonathan Judge, 100 Things To Do Before High School, “Pilot”

Vince Marcello, American Girl: Isabelle Dances Into The Spotlight

Joey Mazzarino, Sesame Street, “4504 Numericon”

Amy Schatz, Saving My Tomorrow, “Part 1 and 2”


Nicolai Fuglsig, Sapeurs (Guinness), Waiting (FEMA)

Lauren Greenfield, Always #LikeAGirl (Always)

Brendan Malloy, Emmett Malloy, The Huddle (Nike)

Daniel Mercadante, Katina Hubbard, Sports Matter (Dick’s Sporting Goods), We Are Not Alone (Facebook), Big Sister (Facebook)

Noam Murro, Ahead of Their Time (Dodge), Empty Chair (Guinness)


Dan Krauss, The Kill Team

John Maloof, Charlie Siskel, Finding Vivian Maier

Jesse Moss, The Overnighters

Laura Poitras, Citizenfour

Orlando von Einsiedel, Virunga

The 67th Annual DGA Awards, hosted by Jane Lynch, will take place on Saturday, Feb. 7.

You May Like