Movie Article

World Wide Web

''Matrix Revolutions'' will open worldwide at the same hour. That means 6 a.m. screenings in Los Angeles and 11 p.m. showings in Tokyo

The Matrix Revolutions | 'REVOLUTION'ARY STRATEGY Keanu Reeves and Co. will show up simultaneously on movie screens around the globe
'REVOLUTION'ARY STRATEGY Keanu Reeves and Co. will show up simultaneously on movie screens around the globe

The makers of ''The Matrix Revolutions'' have concocted a plot for world domination worthy of the cinematic cyberworld's Architect himself. The conclusion to the blockbuster trilogy is scheduled to open worldwide not only on the same day, Nov. 5, but at the same time. Ticketbuyers around the globe will reenter the Matrix at the same hour -- 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, 9 a.m. in New York, 2 p.m. in London, 5 p.m. in Moscow, 11 p.m. in Tokyo, and at synchronous screenings in 50 other countries.

That one-ups the feat of the Wachowski brothers' ''The Matrix Reloaded'' and other recent blockbusters that have settled merely for same-day worldwide openings. ''We received such an overwhelming response to 'Reloaded' from audiences around the globe that the Wachowski brothers wanted to give our fans the chance to experience the final piece of the 'Matrix' puzzle at the same time in every major city worldwide,'' producer Joel Silver said in a statement.''It's an incredibly complex and exciting venture that furthers the Wachowskis' vision and underscores the trilogy's theme of integration.'' (Franchise distributor Warner Bros. is part of Time Warner, as is EW.com.)

In another first, the IMAX version of ''Revolutions'' will also open on Nov. 5, marking the first time that the standard and IMAX versions of a feature film have opened on the same day. To quote another sci-fi franchise, resistance is futile.

Originally posted Oct 02, 2003