Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson's 'Life After Life' wins U.K.'s Costa Book Award

British writer Kate Atkinson has won the novel-of-the-year prize at Britain’s Costa Book Awards with her reality-altering historical saga Life After Life.

Other winners in the event’s five categories include poet Michael Symmons Roberts for his collection Drysalter and mental health nurse Nathan Filer, who takes the first-novel prize for his saga of madness, The Shock of the Fall.

Read Full Story

On the Books: First book published in U.S. sells for $14.2 million at auction; authors to appear at indie bookstores Saturday

Book Of Psalms

Image Credit: Emmanuel Dunand/AFP/Getty Images

Today’s book news includes the most expensive book ever auctioned, a preview of this Saturday’s celebration of indie bookstores, and several year-end lists highlighting the best books this year. Read on for more headlines:

Read Full Story